Settings menu
Breakroom's settings menu offers maximum control over your in-world experience. Learn how to configure media and graphics settings, camera behavior, and more.

Overview

The settings menu contains advanced graphics, media, camera, and UI options that you can edit to meet your exact specifications. You can open the settings menu by clicking the Settings icon in the bottom right corner toolbar, or by typing Ctrl + / on your keyboard.
The location of the "Settings icon." Clicking this icon will open the settings menu.
The settings menu contains several tabs. Below, you can find a brief overview of the settings contained in each tab.
The settings menu tabs. Clicking on a tab will open it.

Graphic settings

The Graphic settings menu.
The settings in this tab allow you to customize your visual experience in Breakroom. You can maximize your graphics settings in order to fully enjoy Breakroom's stunning regions, or reduce your graphics requirements accommodate low-end hardware.
Key settings include:
Setting
Function
Quick-adjust buttons
These buttons let you switch between a light graphic load (Fastest/Fast) and a heavier graphic load (Medium/Quality) with a single click.
Advanced Options
The sliders and check boxes located under Advanced Options allow you to make specific, granular changes to your graphics configuration.
Windowed Mode
On the desktop application, these buttons allow you to toggle Breakroom between full screen and windowed mode.

UI settings

The UI settings menu.
The settings on this tab allow you to edit certain aspects of Breakroom's UI.
Setting
Function
Interface size buttons
These buttons allow you to reduce or increase the size of the Breakroom UI elements that frame your screen.
Enable Login to Preview box
By checking this box, you can turn on the Login to Preview option. Please see this page for more information about the preview grid.

Control settings

The Control settings menu.
The settings on this tab allow you to toggle various input options. You can also adjust your mouse's sensitivity.
Setting
Function
Click to walk
Enables or disables the click to walk option.
Can click on self
Controls whether you can click on your own avatar.
Use Gamepad
Enables or disables the use of a connected Gamepad.
Inverse Y Axis in Mouselook
Inverses the Y axis while in mouselook.

Audio settings

The Audio settings menu.
The sliders on this tab allow you to independently control the volume of the different types of media that might play in-world. You can also use the drop-down menus to manually change which microphone, speakers, and webcam you want Breakroom to access. You can learn more about troubleshooting audio and video problems on this page.

Miscellaneous settings

The Miscellaneous settings menu.
The options contained under this tab allow you to enable or disable additional functions within Breakroom.
Setting
Function
Caching options
These controls allow you to clear your graphics cache and change the cache storage location on your device.
Enable Browser Surfaces
Enables or disables all browser surfaces in-world. This includes the Breakroom web browser, whiteboards, and Slido integration. Generally, we do not recommend turning this off.
Enable Voice
Enables or disables voice chat completely.
Enable Highlight Effect
Enables or disables the highlight "aura" that surrounds clickable objects and avatars when your mouse passes over them.
Enable Camera Tooltips
Enables or disables the tooltips that hover over the bottom right corner toolbar.
Prompt on Mouselook
Enables or disables the prompt that appears when you use the scroll wheel to transition into mouselook.
Use TCP Connection
Enables or disables the use of a TCP connection (as opposed to UDP). This may be a worthwhile option to pursue if you have an especially slow or troublesome connection.
Framerate
Allows you to set a target framerate. If set to a chosen value, Breakroom will attempt to meet this framerate, but will not exceed it.
vSync
Enables or disables vSync. vSync helps your computer synchronize framerate with your monitor's refresh rate, so disabling this option may result in graphical "tearing." Generally, we do not recommend turning this off.
Max Loaded Avatars
Allows you to specify the maximum number of avatars that will be rendered in-world. Setting this to a lower value can help if you are dealing with a slow connection or using a computer with lower-end graphics capability.

VR settings

The settings available under this tab pertain to VR experiences in Breakroom. VR is only available on the Breakroom desktop application, and requires access to advanced computer equipment. In general, we do not recommend the use of VR equipment with Breakroom at this time.

Camera control settings

The Camera control menu.
The sliders and clickable options on this tab allow you to make changes to the way your camera behaves. You can also save your custom settings for future use and to share with others.

Camera Controls

Profile settings vs global settings

It is important to note that the sliders and options available under the Profile settings heading can be set back to their default configuration by clicking the Reset Camera Profile to Default button. They can also be altered by loading a Camera Settings Group item.
Meanwhile, the sliders and options available under the Global settings heading will persist no matter what changes are made to your profile settings. They cannot be saved to a Camera Settings Group item, and will be applied to any profile that you create or load. They also cannot be changed back to their default configuration with a single click.

Save Profile to New Inventory Item

Clicking this button will create a virtual item that contains your current camera profile settings, called a Camera Settings Group. You can then find this object in your Inventory under the Settings tab.
Camera Settings Group objects, located in the Inventory window.
You can share these objects with other users by transferring the item in-person, or by using in-world e-mail. To load a saved set of camera settings, simply follow these instructions.
    1.
    Locate the Camera Settings Group item in your Inventory.
    2.
    Click on it. A set of buttons will appear.
    3.
    Click the Use button.
The location of the "Use" button.

Reset Camera Profile to Default

This button will reset all of your camera profile settings to their original default configuration. Please note that clicking this button will not change your global camera settings, as detailed above.
Last modified 4mo ago