World-level user permissions
By assigning special permissions to your team members, you can take collaboration and customization to a whole new level. Learn how to appoint Administrators, Moderators, and more.

Overview

There are two different categories of special user permissions that you can assign to teammates, event co-managers, or end users -- world-level permissions, and region-level permissions. It is important to note that these two categories are distinct, with their own separate spheres of influence and control. On this page, we will discuss world-level user permissions and how you can assign them to your users.

World-level permission types

Users with world-level permissions have broad powers that apply to the entirety of your Breakroom world, but not necessarily powers that apply to individual regions within that world. Users with world-level permissions generally have rights and powers that allow them to help you manage your world, as well as uploading new content to your world.
The user type selection menu, accessible through the Manage Users tab on the World Dashboard.
In brief, the current world-level permission types (or roles) are:
Owner
Administrator
Moderator
Developer
Member
Guest
The owner of the world as a whole. Owners are responsible for managing billing details for their account and can see and review invoices.
In addition, owners can:
Administrators can perform many of the same tasks as Owners, except they will not have access to billing information or the ability to adjust any maximum purchase limits set by the Owner. They also cannot appoint additional Administrators.
Administrators can:
Moderators have universal access to the stage management system, so they can moderate events in any region. They do not have access to the World Dashboard, and they cannot change or edit any regions unless they own that region or have been given region-specific administrative powers.
Moderators can:
Developers can create and upload content to your world, as well as approve content uploaded by other users. They have limited access to the World Dashboard in order to manage and edit regions.
Developers can:
After you have granted a user Developer permissions, they will need to log in to Curator and accept the Terms and Conditions before they can access the preview grid.
Members occupy a seat and don't have any special privileges. You may choose to assign members permissions at the region level. If SSO is enabled, all users will be added as members and can be modified later.
Guests have no special privileges. These are temporary users added via Eventbrite, Weekly Passes, or any automated registration process you may choose to use.
Developer seats are seats to which you have assigned the Developer role. Any seat can appointed a Developer, and you can re-assign the role if needed. Developers can upload custom content to your world. They can also upload and sell items through the in-world store. Depending on your Breakroom subscription plan, you may not have access to Developer seats. To upgrade your subscription plan, please contact our sales team.
Assigning seats the Developer role will not impact the number of seats available under your subscription plan. For example, if your plan includes 50 seats and 1 Developer seat, you still have a grand total of 50 seats. You can assign one of these seats to act as a Developer.

Assigning world-level permissions

To assign world-level permissions to your users, simply follow the steps below. For more information about adding users to your world, please visit this page.
An example of the "Manage Users" tab available on the World Dashboard.
    1.
    Open your World Dashboard and click on the "Manage Users" tab.
    2.
    To the right of each listed user, you'll see a pencil icon. Click the pencil icon beside the user whose permissions you would like to edit.
An example of an individual user page.
3. An "Edit User" pop-up will appear. Click on the permissions level you would like the user to have. Click on the "Member" box if you want to revoke previously assigned permissions. 4. Click on the "Update" button in the bottom right corner.
Last modified 4mo ago