Pushing items to the live server
Curator allows you to view, edit, delete, or finalize items you've uploaded to Breakroom's preview server, before finally pushing them to the live server. Learn more about Curator's features here.

Overview

Curator is a control panel that allows you to manage items that you have uploaded to Breakroom. It can be used to view, edit, delete or "push" items from the preview server to the live server. Curator can also be used to view Shop transactions when items have been listed for sale, and to request payouts (in order to convert in-game Gold to real currency).

Accessing Curator

You can access Curator from the Dashboard by clicking the Advanced button located at the top of the page.
An example Breakroom Dashboard, with the location of the Advanced button highlighted.
You can also access Curator directly by entering http://curator.sine.space into your browser.
An example of how Curator may appear on your screen.
If you click the Advanced button on your Dashboard in order to navigate to Curator, you will be logged in automatically. If you enter the direct link, you will need to log in with your Breakroom credentials. If you are new to Curator, you will be prompted to accept the Developer Terms and Conditions.

Curator Grids control panel

The Grids control panel lists all the worlds (hereafter referred to as "grids") to which you currently have access, and contains the tools you need to manage the content hosted on those grids. You may see different buttons depending on your permissions level.
The Grids control panel, with information about a single grid ("Richy Demo") available to review.
At the grid level, here is a basic explanation of the different functions available through Curator.

Edit (Owners)

The Edit button is displayed within an individual grid's information panel, and is only available to grid Owners. Here you can rename a grid, attach a website URL to it, change the login splash image, or make changes to your default and featured regions.
An example of the Edit window and its associated fields.
Many of the functions available in the Edit window are also available in a simplified format on the Dashboard itself. We would advise that changes be made through the Dashboard whenever possible.

Items (Owners and Developers)

The Items button is available to both grid Owners and Developers. Here you can access a list of all of the virtual content that has been uploaded to a particular grid. You can also use this window to push virtual content from the preview server to the live server.
An example of the Items window. Note that the Item panel contains info for a single item.
When reviewing the Items window and its associated Item panels, you will see several informational fields and buttons. Here is a brief overview of the UI.
Informational field or button
Function
Search (field #1)
Allows you to search for content by item name or ID number.
Search (field #2)
Allows you to search for content by the name of the Developer who uploaded it.
Item ID
Sorts by Item ID, in ascending or descending order.
Updated
Sorts by time or date updated, in ascending or descending order.
Item name (field #3)
Lists the content name and its associated item ID.
Item type and status (field #4)
Lists the content type and its current status (see below for details).
Add to Inventory
Places a copy of the object in your inventory on the preview server for review purposes. Does not affect the status of an object or push it to live.
Edit
Allows you to edit details for a specific item.

Content types

The item type and status field (labeled as #4 above) contains information about the item type.
    VirtualGood: Furniture item (content that can be placed in a region).
    Region: Region templates that your guests can visit.
    Clothing: Clothing items or avatar attachments.
    Pattern: Textures that are uploaded for use with clothing or furniture items.

Status types

The item type and status field (labeled as #4 above) also contains information about the item status.
    Uploaded: Content is uploaded and awaiting processing by our servers.
    Processing: Content is being processed by our servers.
    Staging: Content is available for review on the preview server.
    Live: Content is available on the live server.
Additionally, each Item panel allows you to identify who created an object, its brand name, the grid it is associated with, and its creation and update dates.

Editing individual item details

The Edit window for a single item.
Clicking the Edit button in an individual Item panel will call up the Edit window. Here you can edit an item's name, its associated brand and copyright information, its description, and its sale information. Once you are happy with your changes, click the Save Edit button.

Item Edits

Clicking this button will push any changes you've made in Curator to the live grid.

Dashboard

Clicking this button will take you to the Dashboard for that specific world.

Pushing content to the live server

If you've tested an object on the preview server and would like to push it to the live server, you can do so through Curator. Simply follow the steps outlined below.
An example item listing, with the status listed as "staging."
    1.
    Click on the Grids tab located at the top of the screen.
    2.
    Find the grid that contains the item you want to push to live. Click the Items button in that grid panel.
    3.
    Locate the item in the list that you want to push to the live sever. Make sure that the item has a status of "staging."
    4.
    Click the Send to Review button, and you will notice several new buttons appear in the item panel. These will include Accept Item, Reject Item, and Cancel Review.
    5.
    Click Accept Item to push the content to the live server. The status of the item will change to "live" to reflect this.
An example item listing, updated with new buttons.

Useful Information

    If you update content that was previously sent to the live server, there could be a small delay -- generally 15-20 minutes -- while the content is updated on Breakroom's cloud servers. During this delay you will still see the old version of your object on the live server.
    If you issue an update for a Shop item that has been purchased by users, they will automatically receive the updated version when it is pushed to live. For this reason, please ensure the item has been thoroughly tested prior to submission.
    As a general rule, we would advise that you let uploaded content sit in staging status for 10 minutes prior to submitting to the live server.
Last modified 4mo ago