Choosing your regions

Breakroom offers a wide selection of region templates, each designed to make event logistics a breeze. Learn how to create and feature regions, as well as how to enable your default landing region.

Overview

Breakroom regions are diverse -- you can choose from a range of templates and art styles, depending on your needs. There are conference and exhibition halls, large and small amphitheaters, open-plan office spaces, board rooms, and town halls.

As part of designing your world, you'll need to select a default region where your users can get their virtual feet wet. You can then create diverse work environments and host a variety of events by adding additional regions to your world.

Creating and managing regions

Breakroom's Region Customization options, available under the World Customization tab.

Managing regions is simple with Breakroom's powerful Dashboard features. Here we will review how to create, edit, and delete regions.

Creating a new region

The Create Region window.

Regions created through the Dashboard are not enabled or featured by default, which means that users -- including the world owner -- will not be able to find or access them in-world. You can learn more about enabling and featuring regions below.

  1. To create a new region, click on the World Customization tab on the Dashboard.

  2. Scroll down to the section entitled Region Customization.

  3. Click the Create Region button located in the lower right corner.

  4. In the Create Region window, start by giving your region a name and a description.

  5. Next, choose a default region template from the menu located at the bottom. (Tip: You can use the search bar to locate a region template by name.)

  6. Finally, if you want to replace the default template loading image (as displayed in the Loading Image panel), you can do so by clicking the Browse button and selecting an image file to use.

  7. When you are finished, click the Save button.

Breakroom supports JPG and PNG images. The recommended dimensions for a login splash screen are 1920x1080, or a 2:1 ratio, with a maximum file size of 5MB.

Note: You can use the Dashboard to create multiple regions that use the same template. (For example, you can have multiple Conference or Desert Island regions.)

However, you cannot use the Dashboard to create a copy of an existing region setup. (For example, if you set out items for a birthday party in one Desert Island region, those items and details will not transfer should you then create a second Desert Island region.)

Editing a region

To make changes to a region after you have created it, click the horizontal ellipses icon next to the region's name and then click Edit region.

Deleting a region

To delete a region after you have created it, click the horizontal ellipses icon next to the region's name and then click Remove.

Note: Your default region is protected, and will not display the Remove option automatically. To delete a default region, you will need to select a new default region first.

Default regions

Your default region is where users will arrive when they first visit your world. You can make your default region the main gathering point of your world -- such as an exposition hall, or an office space. You could also make your default region something fun and casual, giving users a place where they can experiment with Breakroom's features and customize their avatars.

This Conference region has been enabled, featured, and set as the default landing region.

Choosing your default region

You can select or change your default region at any time through the Dashboard by following the steps below.

  1. Click on the World Customization tab on the Dashboard.

  2. Scroll down to the section entitled Region Customization.

  3. Find the region you want to use as your default. Make sure that the Enable Region option is checked.

  4. Click on the Default Landing option to activate it.

  5. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the Save Changes button.

Enabled regions

In addition to your default region, you can create one or more regions to host in your world (up to the maximum allowed by your subscription plan).

A freshly created region. Note how it is not enabled, featured, or set as the default landing area.

When regions are first created, they are not automatically enabled. In order to access a region or open it to other users, you will first need to enable it through the Dashboard.

Note: The region allowance included with your subscription plan applies only to enabled regions. Disabled regions do not count against your region limit, and any custom changes you make to a region will be preserved if you disable it without deleting it. This gives you the ability to create, "store," and activate custom regions as necessary.

Adding enabled regions

You can add enable regions through the Dashboard. Just follow the steps below.

  1. Click on the World Customization tab on the Dashboard.

  2. Scroll down to the section entitled Region Customization.

  3. Find the region you want to enable.

  4. Click on the Enable Region option to activate it.

  5. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the Save Changes button.

Once enabled, users can search for a region if they know it exists, but may not otherwise be able to easily discover it. This can prove useful -- if, for example, you want to set up private areas for VIP functions.

For instructions on setting up teleport pads within or between your regions, please refer to this documentation.

Featured regions

By designating regions as "Featured," you can make them easier for users to discover. Featured regions will appear under the Featured tab on the Explore window, and users can visit them with a single click.

An example of how the Explore window may appear to your users, with many accessible regions.

You can select or change your Featured regions by following the steps below.

  1. Click on the World Customization tab on the Dashboard.

  2. Scroll down to the section entitled Region Customization.

  3. Find the region you want to feature. Make sure that the Enable Region option is checked.

  4. Click on the Set as Featured option to activate it.

  5. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the Save Changes button.