Groups
In-world groups aren't just virtual social clubs—they can also be used as powerful tools for event management. Learn how to join, create, and manage multiple Breakroom groups.

Overview

The combined People and Groups window, with the Groups tab active.
Both the People and Groups windows can be accessed by clicking the People button located in the bottom toolbar. Under the Groups tab, you will see a list of all of the groups to which you currently belong. You can search for a particular group using the search bar located at the top of the tab.
Clicking on a group name will call up the Group Information window. Here you will see basic information about the group, including its name, description, group Admins, and permissions. If you own the group, you'll also see an Edit button. Clicking on this button will allow you to make changes to your group.
The text chat window, with the Upward Con VIPs group chat tab activated.
To participate in global text chat with all members of the group, click on the "Chat in the group" button found in the Group Information window. You can toggle the text chat window on and off by clicking the Show/Hide Chat button located in your bottom toolbar, or by pressing Ctrl + T on your keyboard.

Finding and joining existing groups

An example search, returning two groups for a partial search term. Note the Detail button beside each search result.
If you know the name of a group you want to join, you can search for it using the top toolbar search field. If you like, you can filter the search results by checking the "Group" option under Refine Search.
Once you've found the right group, click the Detail button to open the Group Information window.
Click the "Apply to join" button. You'll be added immediately if the group is set to Public access. If the group has Contact Only or Approved Only permissions, a group Owner or Administrator will need to approve your application before you can join.

Creating a group

The Groups tab, with the Create New Group button highlighted.
If you want to create a new group, click the Create New Group button located near the top of the Groups tab. This will open the Groups dialog box.
The Groups dialog box.
Here you can enter a name and description for your group. You can also make your group Public, Contact Only, or Approved Only. When you're done, click the Save button.
Group Access Type
Description
Public
All users can join this group with no approval process.
Contact Only
Contacts listed in the Owner's People list and other approved users can join the group. Users can apply to join, and the Owner or a group Administrator can approve or reject the application. Approved users can also be pre-emptively added to the group.
Approved Only
Only approved users can join the group. Users can apply to join, and the Owner or a group Administrator can approve or reject the application. Approved users can also be pre-emptively added to the group.

Deleting a group

To delete a group, open the Group Information window for that group and navigate to the Members tab. At the very bottom, you will see a button that says "Delete this group." Click it in order to confirm deletion of the group.

Managing group members

Approving group applicants

An example of an Approved Only group with a pending applicant. Note how the applicant's name is listed under the Requests category.
If you are the Owner, Administrator, or Moderator of a group that requires member approval, membership requests will appear in the Group Information window under the Members tab. Here you can click the Edit button located beside each individual name in order to approve, block, or delete that user (pictured above).
To approve multiple users at once, check the boxes located to the left of their names and then use the Set Role drop-down menu to assign them all the same role. (For instance, you could select five users and approve them all at once by assigning them "Normal" status.)

Assigning group roles

Within groups, there are several roles that members can take. Some roles confer special privileges and powers. In brief, the different roles are:
Owners
Administrators
Moderators
VIPs
Normal
Group Owners have ultimate power over any groups that they have created. They can appoint Administrators, Moderators, and VIPs. They can moderate their groups by muting, blocking, and reinstating members, and delete a group if they choose. If a group is set to Contact Only permissions, then any contacts on the Owner's People list will automatically be granted access to the group.
Administrators can invite users to Contact Only and Approved Only groups, and approve any users who apply for membership. They can mute, block, and reinstate users. They can appoint Moderators and VIPs.
Moderators can approve membership requests. They can mute, block, and reinstate members. They cannot appoint additional roles.
Additional information coming soon.
Normal group members have no special privileges.
To assign a group member a different role, check the box located next to the member's name in the Members tab. Then use the Set Role drop-down menu to select the new role. You can assign multiple users the same role simultaneously, as detailed above.

Muting and blocking group members

To mute or block an individual group member, you can click the Edit button located to the right of their name under the Members tab. To mute or block multiple users at once, you can check the boxes next to their names and then use the Set Status drop-down menu to mute them on chat or block them from the group altogether. Blocked members will not be allowed to rejoin or reapply.
Blocked members can be found under the Ban List category on the Members tab. You can reinstate an individual member by clicking the Edit button located to the right of their name and selecting Unblock. You can reinstate multiple members simultaneously by checking the boxes beside their names and then using the Set Status drop-down menu.
If you mute a group member with Administrator, Moderator, or VIP permissions, you will also revoke these permissions. If you unmute the user, please take a moment to verify that they have the correct permissions.
Last modified 12d ago