Region settings

The Region Settings menu gives you the ability to control who can access your individual regions and how they can use them. Learn how to restrict region access, mute users, and more.

Overview

The Region Settings menu can be accessed by anyone, and contains information relevant to the region and its visitors. Region Owners, Administrators, and Moderators can also access various tools through the Region Settings menu.

An example of the in-world mini map, with the Region Settings button located at the top. ("Breakr...")

You'll find the Region Settings menu button above the in-world mini map. It will be labeled with the name of the region itself. This name may be abbreviated, as in the above example.

Region information panel

An example of the general region information panel.

Clicking on the Region Settings menu button will call up the general region information panel. All users can access this panel, where they can review the region's name, description, and permissions settings. They can also "Like" the region or create a landmark to it for future use.

Of particular note for end users is the Admin list provided in this panel. Here the region Owner and Administrators are identified via their profile pictures, which can be clicked to access their profiles in full. This is a useful tool that allows users to contact the region Owner or Administrators if needed.

Changing region settings and permissions

An example of the region settings and permissions panel.

By clicking on the "Edit" button in the general region information panel, Owners and Administrators can access region settings and permissions. Here Owners and Administrators can:

  • Edit basic information about the region, such as its name, description, and static World Stream URL.

  • Control who can access the room.

  • Control who can spawn items, and how long those items will exist in the region before they are automatically deleted.

  • Control who can use voice chat, or disable voice chat altogether.

  • Control whether the region shows up in search or can be found via the Explore menu.

To change these settings, simply check the box beside the setting you would like to enable and then click the "Save" button located at the bottom of the panel. For more detailed information about changing region access settings, please review the section that follows.

Controlling region access

Regions can either be open to the public or have various degrees of controlled access. When it comes to letting users visit your region, your options are:

  • Public: All users can access your region at any time.

  • Contact Only: Users listed in the region Owner's contact list and approved users can access the region.

  • Approved Only: Only approved and invited users can access the region.

  • Groups Only: Only users in selected groups can access the region.

As you can see, controlled access falls into three distinct categories.

Contact Only

By restricting your region to "Contact Only," you are limiting access to two key groups:

  • People on your list of approved contacts or friends.

  • Specific people you want to invite to the region.

The Region Settings "Members" tab.

To invite specific people to access your region, click on the "Members" tab in the Region Settings panel. Then click the "Add Members" button to open the member selection window.

An example of the member selection window.

Search for the users you want to add as members using the search field, and click "Add" when you find the right user. This will add them to your region Members tab.

Once a user is added to your Members tab, they will be able to access your region (if they are not on your personal People list). You can click on the "Edit" button beside their name to control their level of access to voice and text chat, or to ban them from the region entirely. You can also mute or ban multiple members by checking the boxes beside their names and using the "Set Status" drop-down box to change their settings.

If you mute a member with Administrator, Moderator, or Trusted permissions, you will revoke these permissions. If you unmute the person, please take a moment to verify that they have the correct permissions. Likewise, unbanning a previously banned member removes them from the region Members list entirely. You will need to add them to your Members list again if you want to invite them back to the region.

Approved Only

By restricting your region to "Approved Only," you are limiting access to people you have specifically hand-picked. No one else will be allowed to access your region. Please refer to the section above for detailed instructions on adding Members to your region access list.

Groups Only

On the region settings panel, you'll notice that the "Groups Only" region access option is grayed out, and therefore unclickable. In order to restrict region access to one or more groups, you will need to first join or create those groups.

The People panel, with the Groups tab enabled.

To limit region access to a group, click on the Region Settings button. Then click on the "Groups" tab. This window will initially appear empty; to populate it with your groups, click the "Manage" button at the bottom.

The Region Settings "Groups" tab, now populated with groups.

Check the box beside each group you want to offer region access. Then click the "Save" button.

Click on the "Info" tab. You will see that region access is now restricted to "Groups Only."

Blocking users

To block a user from entering a region, an Owner, Administrator, or Moderator will have to add the user to the Region Settings panel using the steps outlined above. They can then use the "Edit" button by an individual user's name to block them, which will add them to the region's ban list. They can also select multiple users and then use the "Set Status" drop-down menu to block them all at once.

More detailed instructions for muting and blocking users can be found here.