Snapshots

Build a library of virtual memories with Breakroom's Snapshot feature. Learn how to take pictures, share them with people both in and out of Breakroom, and add pictures to your user profile.

Overview

Our Snapshot feature is a convenient, flexible tool that allows you to take and share virtual photographs from within the Breakroom viewer itself. Whether you need to capture a virtual moment for use in your company's real world marketing materials, or just want to post a selfie of your avatar on social media, Breakroom makes it easy.

The documentation below is designed to serve as a basic overview of the Snapshot tool. You'll learn how to take, edit, and share photographs, as well as how to collect and display your favorite images within your user profile.

Taking photos in Breakroom

To open the Snapshot window, simply click on the "Snapshot" button in your bottom toolbar. You can also hit Ctrl + ` on your keyboard.

Owners can use the World Dashboard to enable or disable certain UI features for end users. Your toolbar's appearance may differ from that shown above.

When the Snapshot window is open, it will replace much of the existing UI on your screen. You will see the main Snapshot toolbar centered at the bottom of your screen, and a button in the top right corner that allows you to exit the Snapshot window.

An example of the Snapshot UI.

The Snapshot toolbar contains several different tools that allow you to focus your camera, strike a pose, and edit and embellish the photo itself. In the tables below, we'll locate and review each of these functions.

Snapshot UI walkthrough

The top of the Snapshot toolbar.

Button

Function

Selfie button

Lets you select from a variety of photo angles in order to capture the perfect selfie.

Pose button

Calls up a menu of static poses that you can use to position your avatar.

Filter button

Applies a photo filter to your chosen shot.

Sticker button

Applies a variety of fun foregrounds and backgrounds to your chosen shot.

?

?

?

?

Each of these buttons will change the horizontal menu bar located immediately underneath. Be sure to scroll through all of the options!

The bottom of the Snapshot toolbar.

Button or Check Option

Function

Capture as animated GIF

Allows you to capture your chosen shot as an animated GIF

instead of a static photo. Once this option is checked, you can edit

the "seconds" field in order to shorten or lengthen your GIF.

Capture as 360° image

Allows you to save your chosen shot as a wide-angle 360° image.

Take Photo

Finalizes your shot, and allows you to progress to the final save menu.

Saving and sharing your photos

Once you've taken the perfect photo and chosen which format you'd like to save it in, it's time to decide where you want to save it. After clicking the "Take Photo" button, you'll progress to the final save menu.

The final Snapshot save menu.

Here you can enter a name and description for your photograph. You can then decide where your photo should go. You can choose multiple options if you like.

  • Check the "E-mail to" box and enter a valid e-mail address in order to send a copy to yourself or someone else.

  • Check the "Upload to library" box if you'd like to add the photo to the library accessible through your user profile.

  • Check the "Save to this computer" box if you'd like to save a copy to the computer you're using.

Click the "Upload" button to finalize your choices and complete the photo sharing process. You can also click the "Make Profile Pic" button, which, in addition to finalizing your choices, will showcase your photo in the top header of your user profile. "Retake photo" lets you exit the save menu and start fresh.

The social media pop-up.

After you've saved your photo, you'll be given the option to share the same photo on social media. Click on the relevant button to post your photo on Facebook, Twitter, or LinkedIn.

Managing your photo library

An example of the user profile photo library.

If you choose to upload a snapshot to your photo library, it will appear under the "Photos" tab in your user profile. This tab and any photos posted on it are visible to the general public. Other users can access your profile, click on your shared photos to enlarge them, and leave comments on them.

To delete a comment another user has left on one of your photos, just follow these steps.

  1. Click on the photo in your photo library.

  2. Click on the "Comments" button in the bottom right corner.

  3. Click on the trash can icon next to the comment you want to delete.

To delete a photo from your library entirely, click on the photo you want to delete. Then click on the trash can icon in the bottom left corner of the user profile window. If you want to delete multiple photos at once, you can check the box inside each photo before clicking the trash can icon.