Region settings
The Region Information window gives you the ability to control who can access your individual regions and how they can use them. Learn how to restrict region access, mute users, and more.

Overview

The Region Information window can be accessed by anyone, and contains useful tools for region visitors. Region Owners, Administrators, and Moderators can also access various options through this window.
An example of the in-world mini map, with the Region Information button located at the top. ("Breakr...")
You'll find the Region Information button above the in-world mini map. It will be labeled with the name of the region itself. This name may be abbreviated, as in the above example.

Region Information window

An example of how the Region Information window may appear to end users.
Clicking on the Region Information button will call up the Region Information window. All users can access this window, where they can review the region's name, description, and permissions settings. They can also "Like" the region or create a bookmark so they can easily return.
Of particular note for end users is the List of Admins section. Here the region Owner and Administrators are identified via their profile pictures, which can be clicked to access their profiles in full. This tool allows users to reach out to the region Owner and Administrators if necessary.

Changing region settings and permissions

The Edit button, which is only visible to world Owners and Administrators.
In addition to the universal functionality described above, World Owners and Administrators can access advanced region settings by clicking the Edit button visible in the Permissions panel.
An example of the region settings available to Owners and Administrators.
Here Owners and Administrators can:
  • Edit basic information about the region, such as its name and description.
  • Choose a region-wide Shoutcast stream, or turn it off.
  • Control who can access the region.
  • Control who can spawn items, and how long those items will exist in the region before they are automatically deleted.
  • Control who can use voice chat, or disable voice chat altogether.
  • Control whether the region shows up in search or can be found via the Explore window.
Most of these advanced settings can be enabled by checking the box beside the setting and then clicking the Save button. To disable a setting, uncheck the relevant box and then click the Save button.
For more detailed information about region access settings, please review the section that follows.

Region-wide Shoutcast streams

Using the Region Information window, world Owners and Administrators can enable a region-wide Shoutcast stream. This stream will play automatically for users upon entry to the region, and can be controlled using the stream and volume controls located in the bottom right corner toolbar.
The Region Information window stream selection menu.
To enable a region-wide Shoutcast stream using the Region Information window, please follow the steps below.
  1. 1.
    Log in to your Breakroom world.
  2. 2.
    Navigate your avatar to the region you would like to edit.
  3. 3.
    Once you are in the correct region, click the Region Information button located above the mini map.
  4. 4.
    Click the Edit button in the Permissions panel.
  5. 5.
    Click the Select button next to the Shoutcast field.
  6. 6.
    In the stream selection menu that opens, click on one of the listed streams in order to select it (you can also search for a stream using the search field). When you click on a stream, its address will appear in the stream field at the top of the menu.
  7. 7.
    Alternatively, you can enter a particular Shoutcast address, if known to you, directly into the stream field.
  8. 8.
    Click the Set stream button. This will return you to the Region Information window.
  9. 9.
    Click the Save button.
If you can't immediately hear your chosen stream upon following these directions, try toggling the stream. You can do this by clicking the Radio icon in the bottom right corner toolbar on and off several times.

Controlling region access

Regions can either be open to the public or have various degrees of controlled access. When it comes to letting users visit your region, your options are:
  • Public: All users can access your region at any time.
  • Contact Only: Users listed in the region Owner's People list and approved users can access the region.
  • Approved Only: Only approved and invited users can access the region.
  • Groups Only: Only users in selected groups can access the region.
As you can see, controlled access falls into three distinct categories.

Contact Only

As a region Owner, by making your region "Contact Only," you are limiting access to two key groups:
  • The contacts listed in your People list.
  • Specific users you want to invite to the region.
To invite specific users to access your region, click on the Members tab in the Region Information window. Then click the Add Members button to open the "Add new members" dialog box.
An example of the "Add new members" dialog box.
Search for the user you want to add as a member using the search field, and then click the Add button beside their name. This will add the user to your region Members list.
The Region Information window, with the Members tab active.
Once a user is added to your Members list, they will be able to access your region (if they are not already in your personal People list). You can click on the Edit button beside their name to control their level of access to voice and text chat, delete them from the Members list, or to ban them from the region entirely. To mute or ban multiple users at once, check the boxes located to the left of their names and then use the Set Status drop-down menu to assign them all the same status.
You can also use the Set Role drop-down menu to give users advanced region-level permissions, such as Administrators and Moderators.
Banning a member with Administrator, Moderator, or VIP permissions will revoke this special role. If you choose to unban such a user and reinstate them in the Members list, please take a moment to ensure that they have been assigned the proper role.

Approved Only

By making your region "Approved Only," you are limiting access to only those users included in your region Members list. No other users will be allowed to enter your region. Please refer to the section above for detailed instructions on adding users to your region Members list.

Groups Only

In the Region Information window, you'll notice that the "Groups Only" region access option is grayed out, and therefore unclickable. In order to restrict region access to one or more groups, you will need to first join or create those groups.
The People window, with the Groups tab active.
To limit region access to a group, first click the Region Information button. Then click on the Groups tab. This tab will initially appear empty; to populate it with your groups, click the Manage button located at the bottom.
The Groups tab in the Region Information window, now populated with groups.
Check the box beside each group you want to offer region access. Then click the Save button.
Click on the Info tab, and then the Edit button. You will see that region access is now restricted to "Groups Only."

Blocking users

To block a user from entering a region, an Owner, Administrator, or Moderator will have to add the user to the Members list using the steps outlined above. They can then use the Edit button located beside the individual user's name to block them, which will add them to the region's Ban List. They can also select multiple users and then use the Set Status drop-down menu to block them all at once.
More detailed instructions for muting and blocking users can be found here.