Managing access to your world

Whether imported en masse or added one at a time, end users are an integral part of your world. Learn how to add users to your Breakroom via CSV file upload or manual account creation.

Overview

There are a number of different ways that you can invite users to join you in Breakroom. You can import a large number of users all at once by using CSV files, create user accounts one at a time by manually editing your user records, or allow users to register their own account the first time they visit your world. Breakroom can also fully integrate with your existing authentication systems through SSO for added security and convenience. Finally, if you're hosting a free or for-cost ticketed event in Breakroom, you'll want to take advantage of Eventbrite integration to streamline your own backend logistics.

Importing and exporting user lists

CSV files, or comma-separated values files, are spreadsheets containing relevant user information that can be uploaded to Breakroom through your World Dashboard. Doing this will create an account for each user listed in the spreadsheet, complete with password. You'll also be able to identify important institutional information about each user, which may appear in their profile or in-world hovertext (the identifying text that appears above each user's head).

Downloading a blank CSV

You can download a fresh, unpopulated CSV by clicking on the file link below:

You can also download an unpopulated CSV directly from your World Dashboard. Click on the "Manage Users" tab, and then click the button that says "Import Users."

A pop-up menu will appear. Click on the link that says "Download CSV Model."

Opening and editing a CSV

You can open the Breakroom CSV file using any commonly available spreadsheet software, such as Microsoft Excel or Google Sheets. When you do, you'll see a series of fields where you can enter required or optional information.

Once you've filled out your CSV with at least the minimum required amount of user data, you'll need to save or export the document in CSV (.csv) format. You can change the document name if you like.

Uploading a CSV

On the "Manage Users" tab of your World Dashboard, click the button that says "Import Users."

In the pop-up window that appears, click the field that says "Upload file." This will launch the file browser on your computer. Find the CSV file you want to upload on your computer, click on it, and then click the button that says "Open" to close the file browser.

If your CSV document contains any errors, those will be highlighted so that you can make the necessary corrections. If your document is free of errors, you'll receive the confirmation message displayed above. Click the "Import CSV" button to continue.

Once you've successfully imported your users, you'll see them listed under the "Manage Users" tab. You can click the pencil icon located next to a user's name to manually edit their information, or the trash can to remove them from your user list altogether. You can also use the search field in the top right corner to find a particular user.

Usernames can contain a maximum of 32 characters. Only alpha-numeric characters, spaces, underscores and dashes can be used.

Exporting all existing users as a CSV

To download a CSV file containing all of your current user information, just click the "Export Users" button.

Adding individual users

Adding a user to your roster manually is as simple as filling out a text form. To begin, click the "Add Users" button on the "Manage Users" tab.

A pop-up window will appear containing several information fields for you to fill out. In order to create an account, you will need to provide at least a user name, e-mail address, and password. You'll also need to choose a user type.

If you want to add more than one user, click the plus icon located on the bottom left to generate an additional set of user information fields. When you are finished, click the "Invite Users" button.

Here you can see that we've manually added a new user named Emma Bankole. She now appears in the World Dashboard user list alongside her fellow employees, whom we added via CSV file. If we export the CSV file as it currently exists, Emma's information will appear on the spreadsheet.

Assigning user types

User types correspond to world-level user permissions, and can be changed by clicking the pencil icon located to the right of a user's name and then selecting the type to be assigned. A detailed explanation of the different user types and step-by-step instructions for assigning user types are also available.

Managing user status

The Manage Users tab, with the status search menu and user status bar highlighted.

In addition to a user type, each user is assigned a status. You can use the "Search by status" drop-down menu to display users of each status, and to narrow down your search for a particular user.

  • Active: The user's account is active and accessible to the user. They can log in to your world. If you have assigned them advanced world-level user permissions, they have access to the virtual tools they need (e.g. Curator).

  • Inactive: The user's account information is preserved, but they cannot currently log in to your world. See the section that follows for more information about activating and deactivating users.

  • Pending: The user's account is pending activation. This may be due to a lack of available seats. In order to activate the user, you will need to purchase additional persistent seats or Weekly Passes.

Activating and deactivating users

An example of the "Manage Users" tab on Dashboard, with user management tools highlighted.

Users can be deactivated individually or in bulk. When a user is deactivated, their information will still be available under the "Manage Users" tab, with their user status changed to "Inactive." They will no longer be able to log in to your world, and will no longer take up one of your subscription plan seats.

A deactivated member listing. Notice how the trash can icon has been changed to an "undo" icon.

To deactivate or activate an individual user, simply click on the trash can icon or undo icon located to the right of their name. To deactivate or activate multiple users at once, tick off each relevant name and then click the trash can or undo icon located at the top of the screen.

The undo icon and trash can icons.

If a user disappears from your user list when you deactivate them, make sure that the user search drop-down menu is set to show "All" users or "Inactive" users. If it is only set to show Active or Pending users, you may not see the full user list.

The user search drop-down menu, showing the different filtering options.

Enabling open registration

When open registration is enabled, users who access your world through World Stream or a dedicated desktop app can sign up for their own account. Each user registration will take up one of your available seats, and users will be given the opportunity to pick a starter avatar from your default avatar collection.

You can also enable or disable open registration from your World Dashboard by following the steps below.

  1. Click on the "World Customization" tab.

  2. Scroll down to the section titled "Access."

  3. Click the toggle beside "Self Registration" to enable or disable open registration.

  4. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the "Save Changes" button.

If open registration is disabled, you will need to import or manually create user accounts using the steps outlined above. Otherwise, users will not be able to sign in.