World-level user permissions
By assigning special permissions to your team members, you can take collaboration and customization to a whole new level. Learn how to appoint Administrators, Moderators, and more.

Overview

There are two different categories of special user permissions that you can assign to teammates, event co-managers, or end users—world-level permissions, and region-level permissions. It is important to note that these two categories are distinct, with their own separate spheres of influence and control. On this page, we will discuss world-level user permissions and how you can assign them to your users.

World-level permission types

Users with world-level permissions have broad powers that apply to the entirety of your Breakroom world, but not necessarily powers that apply to individual regions within that world. Users with world-level permissions generally have rights and powers that allow them to help you manage your world, as well as uploading new content to your world.
The user type selection menu, accessible through the Manage Users tab on the Dashboard.
It may be helpful to think of world-level permissions as those you can assign and manage through the Dashboard.
In brief, the current world-level permission types are:
Owner
Administrator
Moderator
Developer
Member
Guest
Owners are responsible for managing billing details for their account and can review their past invoices via the Dashboard.
In addition, Owners can:
Administrators can perform many of the same tasks as Owners, except they will not have access to billing information. They also cannot appoint additional Administrators.
Administrators can:
Moderators have universal access to the moderator controls, so they can moderate events in any region. They do not have access to the Dashboard, and they cannot change or edit any regions unless they own that region or have been given region-specific administrative powers.
Moderators can:
  • Edit all events hosted on the world.
  • Access all moderator controls.
  • Access region settings in order to mute and block abusive users.
Developers can create and upload content to your world, as well as approve content uploaded by other users. They can also edit existing regions using the in-world Region Editor.
Developers can:
After you have granted a user Developer permissions, they will need to log in to Curator and accept the Terms and Conditions before they can access the preview grid.
Members occupy a seat and don't have any special privileges. You may choose to assign members permissions at the region level. If SSO is enabled, all users will be added as members and can be modified later.
Guests have no special privileges. These are temporary users added via Eventbrite, Weekly Passes, or any automated registration process you may choose to use.
Developer seats are seats to which you have assigned the Developer role. Any seat can appointed a Developer, and you can re-assign the role if needed. Developers can upload custom content to your world. They can also upload and sell items through the in-world store. Depending on your Breakroom subscription plan, you may not have access to Developer seats. To upgrade your subscription plan, please contact our sales team.
Assigning seats the Developer role will not impact the number of seats available under your subscription plan. For example, if your plan includes 50 seats and 1 Developer seat, you still have a grand total of 50 seats. You can assign one of these seats to act as a Developer.

Assigning world-level permissions

To assign world-level permissions to individual users, please follow the steps below. For more information about adding users to your world, please visit this page.
An example of how the Manage Users tab may appear.
  1. 1.
    Navigate to your Dashboard.
  2. 2.
    Click on the Manage Users tab.
  3. 3.
    To the right of each listed user, you will see a pencil icon. Click the pencil icon beside the user whose permissions you would like to edit.
An example of individual user details.
3. An Edit User pop-up will appear. Click on the permissions level you would like the user to have. 4. Click on the Update button in the bottom right corner to save your changes.