World Stream is an innovative cloud-based solution for enterprise and educational users who might not have access to advanced graphics processing hardware. World Stream renders your Breakroom world in our cloud servers, and then streams a dynamic, interactive live video of that world to each user's device.
This offers many benefits, including:
Users don't have to download or install anything. No plugins, no standalone apps.
Users don't need to have the latest and greatest computer hardware. As long as they can run one of our supported internet browsers and have access to an internet connection, they're ready to stream.
A certain number of monthly World Stream minutes are included with your Breakroom subscription. This pool of minutes is available to all of your users. You can purchase additional minutes at any time.
World Stream can be accessed just like any other webpage on the internet. When you purchase a Breakroom subscription, you'll be provided with a dedicated World Stream URL. You'll need to copy this URL in order to share it with your users.
On the Dashboard tab of your World Dashboard, you'll see a header containing three links.
The first, "Copy World URL," copies your World Stream URL to your computer's clipboard. You can then paste that URL to your users in an e-mail, company chat, etc.
The second link, "Download App," directs you to a new page where you can download a copy of your custom Breakroom viewer.
The third link, "Go to World," opens your dedicated World Stream URL in a new tab.
When you or one of your users clicks on your World Stream URL, the page will open as usual. Your browser may request permission to use your microphone or camera by presenting you with a small pop-up message. Here's an example of the type of pop-up you might see in Microsoft Edge:
If a pop-up like this appears, simply click "Allow." If you accidentally click "Block" or close the pop-up without making a choice, see our troubleshooting documentation for assistance.
Once you've opened the World Stream URL in your web browser, you'll see a screen with a large "Play" button in the center. Click this button to connect to World Stream. There will be a pause while your Breakroom application is installed on our cloud servers. You will then be presented with a login screen.
Here you or your users can log in as a guest, register a new account, retrieve a lost password, or log in with existing login credentials.
Unless you are editing or testing something in preview mode, you'll want to make sure that the "Login to Preview Server" box is unchecked when you log in.
Once you've successfully logged in, you're ready to go. Every aspect of your world will behave the same as if you were logged in on Breakroom's desktop application. Basic information about using Breakroom can be found in our Getting Started documentation.
Breakroom's World Stream viewer features a unique toolbar designed to help users address common streaming issues. You can summon this toolbar by passing your mouse across the bottom of your screen.
By default, the World Stream toolbar is set to temporarily disappear after a few moments of inactivity. You can pin the toolbar in place for easy access.
Logs you out of the world and stops World Stream.
Allows you to adjust the stream quality, from 360p to 1080p.
Allows you to adjust the overall volume of the streaming content.
Calls up the World Stream statistics bar (below), where you can find information about session duration, framerate, and your connection.
Refreshes your stream.
Opens a menu of additional options, which may vary based on your world or region. This may include the option to change input sources.
Toggles your browser in and out of fullscreen mode.
As long as your account is active within a six-month period, your World Stream minutes will never expire. You can keep track of how many World Stream minutes your users have consumed by consulting the widget on the "Dashboard" tab of your World Dashboard.
If you need to purchase additional World Stream minutes, you can click on the "Upgrade" link in top right corner of the widget, or on the "World Stream" tab located on the left-hand side of your screen. Then follow the steps below.
In the "Add World Stream Minutes" panel, move the slider to indicate the number of minutes you need, or enter the number manually in the field above the slider.
Confirm your purchase by clicking the "Add Minutes" button.
We will automatically charge your credit card or invoice you.
If you would like to impose a cap on how many minutes users can spend logged in to a single World Stream session, or limit how many total World Stream minutes they can use each month, you can do so from the "World Stream" tab on your Dashboard.
Simply toggle the button to activate one or both limits, and then type the number of minutes into the field. Click "Save Changes" when you are finished. You can turn off limits entirely by clicking the relevant toggle again.